Save/Restore Themes and Backups
Weaver Xtreme allows you to save a backup of all your settings in the WordPress database, or to download and upload them to a file on your own computer.
- Download All Current Settings – If you download all your settings to a backup (and this includes “Save Settings to Database”), then every setting is saved to a file with a .wxb extension.
- Download Only Theme Related Settings – If you download the current theme related settings to your computer, then the settings relevant to a theme are saved in a file with a “.wxt” extension. Settings that are considered “per-site” (like customize headers, showing excerpts, and others) are not saved or restored from a theme “.wxt” file.
What is the difference between the two?
You might ask what the difference between a Backup and a Theme Setting is. The difference is that when you save a theme’s settings, settings that apply to a particular site aren’t saved. This allows people to share their theme designs. Most people won’t care about sharing their theme design – they will be using it just for their own site. So unless you know you’re going to be sharing a theme, stick to Backup or Save Settings on the Save/Restore tab.
You should note that if you make changes to the settings, they are saved in the “current” settings. If you then pick another Weaver subtheme, for example, many of your settings will be lost and replaced with the new theme settings (per-site settings are not replaced when you change a subtheme, but ARE replaced when you use “Restore Settings from Database”). Thus, you really need to save your work if you want to be able to restore it.
The simplest way to save the settings is to save them to “Save Settings to Database”. The settings are saved in the WordPress data base. These settings will survive theme and WordPress upgrades, and as long as you’re only using one theme, is perhaps the easiest way to save your work.
For each of these save methods, there is a corresponding way to restore your settings.